Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh win by 3 runs against Afghanistan


Bangladesh win by 3 runs against Afghanistan in their second Super Four match on Sunday at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

Follow the match highlights here:

# Bangladesh win by 3 runs. They did restrict Afghanistan in the final over. What a nail-biting finish for Bangladesh.

# Gulbadin Naib is in at nine.

# WICKET!! Rashid Khan dismissed by Mustafizur. Will Bangladesh restrict Afghanistan?

Afghanistan need 8 runs off 6 balls.

Rashid Khan is in at eight.

# WICKET!! Last moment wicket for Bangladesh. Nabi departs.

# Afghanistan need 19 runs off 12 balls.

# This was Mashrafe Mortaza’s 250th ODI wicket!

# Samiullah Shenwari is in at seven.

# WICKET!! Big wicket for Bangladesh as Hashmatullah gets bowled by Mortaza. Afghanistan get a setback.

Mohammad Nabi is in at six.

# WICKET!! Skipper Afghan departs. Bangladesh now breaking the build up again.

Afghanistan 154/3 after 38 overs. Afghanistan need 96 runs to win off 72 balls.

Afghanistan managing to maintain their pace. Hashmatullah completes half-century. Asghar-Hashmatullah partnering at 64 runs off 80 balls. The Afghani side will have to up their game as they still need 96 runs of 72 balls. Bangladesh eyeing to build pressure over Afghanistan with their bowlers.

Afghanistan 91/3 after 26 overs. Afghanistan need 159 runs to win off 144 balls.

# Asghar Afghan is in at five.

# WICKET!! Finally, Bangladesh put a halt at the building partnership. Shahzad dismissed on Mahmudullah’s delivery.

Don’t Miss: Asia Cup 2018: India ease past Bangladesh to win by 7 wickets

Afghanistan are reviving their innings as Shahzad nears half-century. Shahzad maintains steady form and manages boundaries in between to steer his team forward. Bangladesh will now have to take more wickets in order to disrupt Afghanistan’s pace. Afghanistan 72/2 after 20 overs.

# Hashmatullah Shahidi is in at four.

# WICKET!! Rahmat departs early. Quick wickets for Bangladesh here.

#  Afghanistan 26/1 after seven overs. Afghanistan need 224 runs to win.

# Rahmat Shah is in at three.

# WICKET!! Afghanistan lose Ihsanullah’s wicket, caught by Hossain. 

Mohammad Shahzad and Ihsanullah Janat open for Afghanistan.

# The match resumes!

# Innings break.

# Bangladesh set 250 run target for Afghanistan. 

Afghanistan restricts Bangladesh at 249 runs. Kayes ends the innings with a FOUR and Afghanistan will really have to up hit back hard. Bangladesh 249/7.

Mehidy Hasan is in at nine.

# WICKET!! Another one for Afghanistan. It seems that they are back to their wicket-taking spree as Mortaza departs with 10 runs.

Mashrafe Mortaza is in at eight.

# WICKET!! A big wicket for Afghanistan as Mahmadullah departs at 74 runs off 81 balls. A break in Bangladesh’s form.

Mahmadullah and Kayes complete their half-century and Bangladesh come up with 200 runs after 46 overs. A more firm form for Bangladesh after Afghanistan’s early strike. Bangladesh now eyeing to put up a heavy target for Afghanistan as it has been a while since the latter grabbed a wicket. Bangladesh 215/5 after 46 overs.

# Bangladesh are regaining balance as Kayes and Mahmadullah steer their team towards stability. Kayes-Mahmadullah’s partnership come up to 62 off 85 balls and Afghanistan complete 150 runs after 36 overs. Bangladesh will have to up their game in order to touch the 250 run mark. Will they be able to strike against Afghanistani bowlers?

# Bangladesh 91/5 after 22 overs.

# Mahmudullah is in at seven.

# WICKET!! This one comes with a sought-after decision as Rashid Khan had dislodged the bails and a run out was granted to Afghanistan. Completely knocking Bangladesh off balance.

Imrul Kayes is in at six.

# WICKET! Two in three balls! Shakib departs without a run.

Shakib Al Hasan is in at five. 

WICKET!! Rashid Khan strikes for Afghanistan. Dismisses Liton Das and breaks the building partnership between the Bangladeshi players.

Bangladesh looking for a comeback here. Liton and Rahim steering the team forward and have brought a little more stable situation in the game for Bangladesh. Liton-Rahim are up with 50 run partnership. Afghanistan’s bowlers are trying every trick to build pressure over Bangladesh. 

Bangladesh 18/2 after 6 overs!

# Mushfiqur Rahim is in at four.

# WICKET!  Mithun lbw out on Mujeeb’s delivery. Afghanistan strikes early.

# Mohammad Mithun is in at three.

# WICKET!! Hossain dismissed on Aftab Alam’s delivery. First one for Afghanistan.

Liton Das and Nazmul Hossain open for Bangladesh.

# Bangladesh (Playing XI): Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam

# Afghanistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Shahzad(w), Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Samiullah Shenwari, Asghar Afghan(c), Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

# Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat.

Afghanistan had been gritty throughout the tournament except for the last match which they lost by 3 runs against Pakistan. Afghanistan’s skipper Asghar Afghan had earlier mentioned that he is not in the tournament just to participate but to win and he standing by his statement. The bowling line-up has been tremendous with Rashid Khan being Afghanistan’s star bowler.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, have won just one match against Sri Lanka. Afghanistan have defeated Bangladesh once in the innings on Thursday and the latter will have to put up a good show on Sunday to survive the tournament.

Bangladesh has not been in a good form in the ongoing Asia Cup and will have to up their game as they face Afghanistan in the Super four match.


Bangladesh (From): Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Islam, Abu Hider Rony, Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes

Afghanistan (From): Mohammad Shahzad(w), Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan(c), Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Javed Ahmadi, Samiullah Shenwari, Munir Ahmad, Sayed Shirzad, Sharafuddin Ashraf